Mite Player of Year (formerly Tim Russell Memorial) (Stratford Rotary Hockey League)

PrintMite Player of Year (formerly Tim Russell Memorial)

Mite Player of the Year (formerly Tim Russell Memorial)

This trophy has been presented annually since 2013 to the mite division player who showed the most improvement over the course of the season.


2021-2022 winner winner Adam Richter receives
the award from U8 convener Joe Gilchrist.

2021 - No Award
2020 - Cam Gibson
2019 - Ben Van Bakel
2018 - Brooke Stairs
2017 - Ethan Schmidt
2016 - Jack Bannon
2015 - Owen Chambers
2014 - Aaron Green
2013 - Mark Barton

Tim Russell Memorial Award

This trophy, in memory of former Rotary Hockey player and coach Tim Russell, was presented annually from 1989 through 2012 to the mite division defensive player who showed the most improvement over the course of the season. The award was retired following the 2011-2012 season. After playing Rotary Hockey from the age of 7 through to his final year of eligibility, Tim gave back to the program as an assistant coach for five years prior to his death. He passed away while on the ice doing his favourite thing: coaching. The Russell family honours Tim's memory with the presentation of this trophy, along with the hope that it will encourage a young hockey player to pursue his or her dreams, and in the course of that pursuit, contribute to their development.

2012 - Shawn Looby
2011 - Matthew Barber
2010 - Owen Akey
2009 - Callan Ferguson
2008 - Patrick McIsaac
2007 - Jeremi Caman
2006 - Anthony Gioia
2005 - Liam Jarriott
2004 - Brody Higgs
2003 - Korbin Dench
2002 - Robyn Wiltshire-Gardner
2001 - Shannon Coffey
2000 - Tyler Horan
1999 - Ben Lobsinger
1998 - James Rose
1997 - Justin Wilker
1996 - Sean Ryan
1995 - Frank Morris
1994 - Jeff Young
1993 - Jordan Cottenie
1992 - Mathew Harrigan
1991 - Kevin Haldane
1990 - Aaron Shurrie
1989 - Jeff Jackson
Social Networking
Follow Us On
Visit Stratford Rotary Hockey League on Facebook
Quick Links
Manage Subscriptions
Signup to receive email or text messages for the teams you want to follow.
Printed from on Tuesday, March 21, 2023 at 4:18 PM